New England Governors / Eastern Canadian Premiers

From left to right: Governor Gina Raimondo (RI), Premier Brian Gallant (NB), Premier Philippe Couillard (QC), Governor Dannel Malloy (CT), Governor Charlie Baker (MA), Premier Wade MacLaughlan (PEI), Governor Maggie Hassan (NH), Governor Paul LePage (ME), Premier Dwight Ball (NL), Governor Peter Shumlin (VT), and Premier Stephen McNeil (NS).

40th NEG/ECP Annual Conference - Boston, Massachusetts

The NEG/ECP recently held their 40th conference hosted by Governor Baker in Boston, Massachusetts. Material from the conference is provided below.

Conference Agenda

Official Photo

The signed resolutions:

The Economic Development Report is available here.

Plenary Session I – Emerging & Innovative Technologies
Moderator: Dr. Ian Waitz, Dean of School of Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

  • John Fernandez, Professor and Director of the Building Technology Program in the Department of Architecture from MIT
  • Karen Gleason, Professor of Chemical Engineering in the Department of Chemical Engineering from MIT
  • Karim Zaghib, Director of Energy Storage at Institut de recherche d'Hydro-Québec
  • Kristala Prather, Professor of Chemical Engineering and a biofuels expert from MIT
  • Stephen Pike, Interim CEO of Massachusetts Clean Energy Center

Plenary Session II – The Benefits and Importance of Diverse Energy Generation (Note: Panel II did not present slides)
Moderator: Philippe Dunsky, President, Dunsky Energy Consulting.

  • Marcy Reed, President of National Grid Massachusetts
  • Penni Mclean Conner, Chief Customer Officer and Senior Vice President of Customer Group for Eversource Energy
  • Matthew Beaton, Massachusetts Secretary of Energy and Environment
  • Michael Ahern, Director of Power Systems Engineering, WPI
  • Austin Blackmon, Boston Chief of Environment and Energy 

Since 1973, the six New England states and the five Eastern Canadian provinces have worked cooperatively to address their shared interests across the border.  Through the annual conferences of governors and premiers and discussions of joint committees, NEG/ECP encourages cooperation by:

  • developing networks and relationships,
  • taking collective action,
  • engaging in regional projects,
  • undertaking research, and
  • increasing public awareness of shared interests.

Among the topics recently addressed by the governors and premiers are:

  • ensuring a clean, efficient and reliable energy future for the region,
  • energy innovation for a competitive economy,
  • changing global energy markets and the region’s energy landscape,
  • cross-border partnerships for economic development and trade,
  • transportation and air quality,
  • climate change action plans and greenhouse gas emission reduction strategies,
  • energy efficient vehicle and infrastructure technologies, and
  • cross border mutual aid in emergency planning.

The 11 member jurisdictions of NEG/ECP are:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and Québec.

Current NEG/ECP joint committees include:  the Committee on the Environment and its Climate Change Steering Committee, the Northeast International Committee on Energy, and the Transportation and Air Quality Committee.

Additional information on the NEG/ECP and its resolutions and programs is available at:

CONEG Policy Research Center provides secretariat support for the NEG/ECP.